What information do we collect from you?
We collect information from you when you register for an account on the Numbas Editor, specifically we ask for your first name(s), surname, username, e-mail address and a password. The Numbas Editor is served over HTTPS; this means that traffic to and from the website is encrypted. When this personal information is sent to us, the information is passed from the browser to the website server in encrypted form – so unintended users are unable to intercept the data.
Server logs are kept under the legal basis of legitimate interest for operational & security reasons; when you access the Numbas Editor your IP address is logged. Server logs are stored for X days.
When registering for an account, we offer the opportunity to opt in to our newsletter e-mails.
How will we use the information about you?
The information collected from you at registration is used to create a secure account on the Numbas Editor in which to store your assessment content.
When you make assessment content available to other users, your first name(s) and surname will appear, in order for others to identify the author of the material. Other users will be able to look at your profile page, to see other content that has been shared.
Newcastle University will not share your information with any other companies or organisations for the purposes of marketing or any other use.
We will use your e-mail address for the purposes of confirming your account and if you need to reset your password. We will not send marketing e-mails unless you consent to our newsletter e-mails.
You can withdraw consent to newsletter e-mails at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link at the bottom of an e-mail, or by managing your preferences in your profile page on the Numbas Editor.
Access to your information
You have the right to request a copy of the information that we hold about you. If you would like a copy of some or all of your personal information, please email us at email@example.com.
You can edit all of the information collected at registration from your profile page.
Closing your account
You can close your account at any time from your profile page. If you do so then all information collected at registration will be deleted.
If you would like to delete assessment content that you have created then you must do this prior to closing your account. In the event that material that you have made available to others is not removed, it will be displayed under “Deactivated user” instead of your name.
At the point of closing your account, we will ask whether you would like to also stop receiving newsletter e-mails.
How to contact us
- by email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- by post: E-Learning Unit, School of Mathematics, Statistics & Physics, Newcastle University, NE1 7RU